File Hills First Nations Police Service





Board of Police Commissioners

Greetings from the File Hills First Nations Police Service Board of Police Commissioners

The Board is composed of five members, one from each of the File Hills First Nations, appointed by the respective Councils. The members serve a three-year term which currently runs until March 31, 2018.

Current members of the Board are:

  Daniel Bellegarde, Chair: Little Black Bear FN
  Curt Adams: Carry the Kettle FN
  Shelby Stonechild, Sec/Treas: Okanese FN
  Kelsey Starblanket: Star Blanket FN
  Blain Pinay: Peepeekisis FN

Generally, the Board is responsible for:

  • recruitment, hiring, oversight and evaluation of the Chief Of Police for the FHFNPS,
  • the development of general over-arching policy for the governance of the Police Service, strategic planning for the FHFNPS, while respecting the authority of the Chief of Police to manage the operations of the FHFNPS,
  • ensuring that the Police Service meets the requirements of the Saskatchewan Police Act 199, the Policing Agreement as signed off by the First Nations and the policing priorities as set out by the First Nations.
  • determining budget, the staffing and the infrastructure funding requirements for facilities and equipment to enable the service to be effective in the maintenance of public safety in the community.
  • maintaining effective communication and working relationships with the First Nations of the File Hills Agency, the Saskatchewan Police Commission and other agencies of the federal, provincial and First Nation governments.

The Board members are dedicated to ensuring an effective police service that will meet the safety and security requirements of the File Hills First Nations, while being accountable to the leadership and citizens of the First Nations. The Board supports the delivery of community-based policing in a culturally sensitive manner that respects the need for balance between enforcement and crime prevention in our communities.